Posted in That's Life!

Balloon Phobia!

 

IMG_20150215_201157.jpg
All kinds of scary at seeing a street full of balloons!

So I have this phobia; one might think me strange, but aren’t we all that little bit different? Don’t we all have something weird yet at the same time wonderfully weird hidden within us? Well, I really don’t like balloons!

We may fear, dread or even loathe an object, a place, a situation, an animal or hold such strong negative feelings towards something; this is our phobia. Mine may be a little stranger than the common fear of spiders, flying or the dark, but nonetheless, it is one that really does bother me.

I don’t know where this fear came from, I used to be able to control myself; if the balloon was in my hand (in my control) then the issue wasn’t so great, but more recently I can’t even be in the same room as a balloon. I get all of those tingly sensations in my tummy – not the good kind- and I just can’t stand to be near them!

Unfortunately, I will be that cruel auntie who makes sure balloons are NOT brought into my house. There will be no balloons at my parties, no gifts of balloons and certainly no balloon games…who can pop it first?! I think that is my issue, you just never know when they are going to bang! When tiny people get their hands on balloons there is also that horrendous rubbery scratching sound made, as kids stroke their little fingers all over them.

So there you have it, my odd fear, phobia if you will. What really gets to you?

IMG_1941.JPG
These bad boys were handed to me at a christening last year…I wouldn’t feel so comfortable with them being so close now!

 

Author:

Hello. Hola. Welcome to my blogging world. Join me on my writing journey as I jot down all sorts; from things that make me happy and giggle, to travels and adventures already experienced. There may be moments when things get a little more serious, but mainly I'm here to share my thoughts and stories and learn lots from fellow bloggers. :-)

Leave a Reply

