Posted in That's Life!

Help Us Get Out There!

technology-poster

Hello fellow bloggers! I’m writing this little post and hoping that you can offer me a little help. Maybe it’s just me, maybe there are others of you out there who like me, does not have a clue when it comes to technology!

I started this blog a few months ago and I’ve loved every bit of the world of blogging so far; the sharing advice and stories, discovering blogs and reading great reviews, and coming across some really amazing people behind those blogs.

My blog is a bit of a mix up, I just enjoy writing about whatever comes to mind on the day. Whether it be talking about what I have been up to lately, a place I’ve visited, sharing an experience, reliving memories abroad, or even just writing down how I’m feeling… I’m finding it all a lot of fun.

While enjoying myself in this little blogging world, I have to admit that I am clueless with the technical side of things. I can only just about manage to type up and press post! HaHa! I would love a bit of advice on how to get out there a bit more. How can I connect current posts to previous posts, highlight a connecting word for example? I’ve also wondered if it is possible to “tag in” certain places. Say I’m writing about my home town or even a place I have visited, is it possible for particular words to be selected so that if someone wanted to read further information on a particular place, then they can.

There are so many questions I have really, even down to the layout of my page…but little by little hey! I hope it’s OK that I’m using a post to ask those of you with more technical minds than mine, for help! Please share my post, comment and help me out, or just send me in the right direction of someone in the know. I love reading all of the pages I follow and thank you to those of you who follow mine!

Here’s to a super end to the weekend!

2-sos2-murcia-32
Me and my delicious sister…selfies in the dark!
Author:

Hello. Hola. Welcome to my blogging world. Join me on my writing journey as I jot down all sorts; from things that make me happy and giggle, to travels and adventures already experienced. There may be moments when things get a little more serious, but mainly I'm here to share my thoughts and stories and learn lots from fellow bloggers. :-)

5 thoughts on “Help Us Get Out There!

  1. Okay I’ll try and answer your questions the best I can with just words.
    To get your posts read a bit more, keep using tags and networking. There’s not really a trick for this. Social media helps too.
    Linking old posts to new posts is easy. When writing a post, there’s this button in your little toolbar at the top that looks like a metal link. So you highlight text you want to be the link and then click the button and then you can link things. You can do this by pasting the URL or searching through your old posts, which is easier.
    There is no ‘tagging in’ system like on Facebook. But if you were to share the post on FB, you could tag there and perhaps that’ll get a few more eyes on your post?
    I hope that helped some…if you have more questions, let me know! Blogging is like another language, and you just kind of pick it up and learn as you go!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I suggest opening a Word file – title it Blog Notes(?) When you think of something, open it and type thoughts in. When you’ve written and posted, you can delete. Mine currently is at 4000 words.
    Start a Word file for blogs. Compose in Word, and move to WordPress edit page when ready. Number your blogs. When one has been published, left-click on the listing, you’ll get a menu box. Right-click on ‘rename’, and add the publication date, hit ‘enter’ Now you’ll know where in WordPress to look for any particular post.
    For connecting, open WordPress edit page. You can do it before posting or scroll to the bottom of a posted blog and click ‘edit’, to get to that page. Open another window and go to where you have the information – past blog-post, Wiki article, town website, etc. Place cursor on the web address in the upper left of the page, right-click. Again, you’ll get a menu box. Right-click ‘copy’ or ‘copy shortcut’. (It’s sometimes different, but you’ll catch on.) Left-click back to the edit page, highlight the word(s) you want to connect to, cursor up to the top and left-click on ‘link’. (It looks like a chain link.) Another menu will pop up. Cursor into the empty box and left-click to anchor, then right-click and hit ‘paste’ , or hit ‘control-V’. I also click on the option, ‘open in new tab’. That way, the original article remains while readers are doing research.
    The above may seem complex, but it really isn’t. Practice makes perfect. I’m a 72-year-old technophobe. If I can do it, you will too. Best of luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

