Posted in That's Life!

Days 8 + 9 = Schal!

Wikipedia states “A scarf, also known as a Kremer, muffler or neck-wrap, is a piece of fabric worn around the neck, near the head or around the waist for warmth, cleanliness, fashion, or religious reasons.” This is something I obviously already knew, apart from the word “kremer”, but as I find a different scarf each day this statement is being reaffirmed.

Were scarves originally invented to keep us that little bit warmer? Or did they appear on someone ever so beautiful and become an item of fashion. I personally, wear a scarf to keep my neck warm in case my coat doesn’t zip all the way up. However, I have found that a lot of the scarves I have received as gifts are possibly more on the “accessory” side of things.  You know, something we throw on to jazz up a plain outfit and we don’t take it off when we are indoors. The more colourful ones, most are thinner, haven’t kept me as warm as the big woolly ones! (I promise I’m going somewhere with this…)

20161109_105822.jpg

Not really to my liking, this was the scarf for both days eight and nine and I have chosen the German word this time. The reason wore the same for two days running (not what I set out to do) is because work took over and what with sorting out the dogs, dashing about in the rain and looking after a friend’s little girl, I just got a bit lost!

So I wasn’t too keen on this one, I actually think it belongs to my mum and she loves it! A little bit too jazzy for me and maybe the wrong colours for winter; too thin and fine for this season too! This piece of material is very fitting with what I wrote in the introduction; many are designed for fashion purposes. When I googled “scarf fashion”, the amount of sub-headings that came up were endless! Colours, seasons, countries, age ranges, and genders. A sea of scarves fit for everyone.

20161109_105755.jpg

Although I’m not so keen on this one, it did add some colour to my all black outfit. For toady, I need to dig down deep into a drawer and see what I pull out. Something a bit thicker I’m hoping…

Catch up with me later this evening to discover what I found. Have a lovely day everyone 😀

Author:

Hello. Hola. Welcome to my blogging world. Join me on my writing journey as I jot down all sorts; from things that make me happy and giggle, to travels and adventures already experienced. There may be moments when things get a little more serious, but mainly I'm here to share my thoughts and stories and learn lots from fellow bloggers. :-)

Leave a Reply

